Browse St. Petersburg Open 2018: history, regulations, participants

Обзор St. Petersburg Open 2018: история, регламент, участники

On today St. Petersburg Open is one of the most prestigious tennis tournaments held on the territory of Russia. Competitions belong to the category of ATP 250 and are conducted exclusively among men. If in a global scale tournament in the Russian "Northern capital" is not the most prestigious, the Russian sports fans and bets in bookmakers are actively making predictions for the matches of the tournament.

A bit of history

The first competition was held in St. Petersburg in 1995-m to year. The tournament was held on a regular basis, but in 2014-m year, for reasons of an organizational nature, the championship was not held. Consistently, the tournament developed, including in terms of prize money. In recent years, their value is about $ 1 million.

The first time the main coverage of the tournament was the rug, and in 2000 year it was replaced by a full hard.

The rules of the competition

Traditionally the games St. Petersburg Open held in one week in the second half of September. This year the tournament will be held in the period 17-23 September.

Taking into account the status of the tournament, its main draw is set to start the tournament from 1/16 final. In men's doubles games starting from 1/8 finals. Matches are conducted according to the standard procedure for tournaments of series ATP 250 with a victory in the meeting after winning two sets.

Participants

Given the fact that before the start of the tournament in Saint Petersburg are still four months to talk about the composition of the participants of the competition prematurely. In General, the leading players do not often indulge the audience. Today's TOP 10 ranking only Andy Murray won the tournament, but the last time exactly 10 years ago.

In 2016, the year the victory was celebrated by the young German Alexander Zverev, member of the three world ranking at the moment, and last year the victory went to little-known Bosnian David Jumhur, not even entering the TOP 30 of the ATP rankings. The Russians have not won a tournament for almost 15 years. The latter was Mikhail Youzhny in 2004-m to year.

Thus, it is virtually impossible to determine the winner of the upcoming Open championship of Saint-Petersburg.

Comments ()

    You need to login to create comments.

    Login Забыли пароль?

    Вы можете зарегистрироваться и оставить комментарий

    Также, You can authorize on site with:
    YandexVkontakte

Обзор St. Petersburg Open 2018: история, регламент, участники

Обзор St. Petersburg Open 2018: история, регламент, участники

На сегодня St. Petersburg Open является одним из наиболее престижных теннисных турниров, проводимых на территории России. Соревнования относятся к категории ATP 250 и проводятся исключительно среди мужчин. Если в мировом масштабе российский турнир в «северной столице» не самый престижный, то российские любители спорта и ставок в букмекерских конторах активно делают прогнозы на матчи турнира.

Немного истории

Впервые соревнования были проведены в Санкт-Петербурге в 1995-м году. Турнир проводился на регулярной основе, но в 2014-м году по причинам организационного характера чемпионат не состоялся. Последовательно турнир развивался, в том числе в плане призовых. В последние годы их величина составляет около 1 миллиона долларов.

Первое время основным покрытием турнира был ковер, и только в 2000-е году его заменил полноценный хард.

Регламент соревнований

Традиционно игры St. Petersburg Open проходят в течение одной недели во второй половине сентября. В нынешнем году турнир будет проходить в период 17-23 сентября.

С учетом статуса турнира его основная сетка предусматривает начало турнира с 1/16 финала. В мужском парном разряде игры начинаются с 1/8 финала. Матчи проводятся по стандартной схеме для турниров серии ATP 250 с победой во встрече после выигрыша двух сетов.

Участники

С учетом того, что до старта турнира в Санкт-Петербурге остается еще четыре месяца, говорить о составе участников соревнований преждевременно. В целом ведущие игроки не часто балуют российскую публику. Из сегодняшних ТОП-10 рейтинга только Энди Маррей дважды становился победителем турнира, но в последний раз ровно 10 лет назад.

В 2016-м году победу праздновал молодой немец Александр Зверев, входящий в тройку мирового рейтинга на текущий момент, а в прошлом году победа досталась малоизвестному боснийцу Давиду Джумхуру, не входящему даже в ТОП-30 рейтинга ATP. Россияне не выигрывали на турнире уже почти 15 лет. Последним был Михаил Южный в 2004-м году.

Таким образом, сегодня практически невозможно определить победителя предстоящего Открытого чемпионата Санкт-Петербурга.